God Sent me an Angel

Archangel Gabriel

God Sent Me An Angel

by Tommy Q

I was walking along a country road one calm and cloudy day Feeling down about the problems that had seemed to come my way My pain was very great and my tears I could not hide And was calling God to help me as I was hurting deep inside

I then thought about what I’ve believed and how I’ve rarely called For sometimes I have wondered if God were there at all As I lifted up my head and looked down that road a spell I spotted someone coming – from the distance hard to tell

As he got a little closer I could then see all the signs
Of someone who’d been down that road quite a number of times His clothes were old and dusty and his shoes were pretty worn But there seemed a glow about him – at least I could have sworn

His face appeared real friendly as he peered up in the sky He said, the weather is pretty calm today, hope the rain will pass us by He first talked about the weather, but there seemed to be much more That we both had in common, except for what we wore

He started talking about his life and the places he had been And he spoke as if he knew me, like we were next-of-kin From the problems that he had, to the happy times he found Our likeness was uncanny and was becoming more profound

We had so much in common – I couldn’t believe how much alike, That I decided to tag along, we continued on our hike He said he’s from all over and his name was just like mine, And hoped one day that we would meet as he had a real short time

I was feeling sort of baffled, as we went on with our walk But he had held my interest, so I listened as he talked He said, I know you’re hurting – as your life has been so hard But it seems today that you found God, where once you’d disregard

From the point that I was calling and was asking for God’s hand, Is the point where he had first appeared, as this was in God’s plan He said to take more time for prayer – that I could bend God’s ear That He is always listening, and He is always near

God knows about my struggles but better times will be ahead, As long as I keep believing and will no longer be mislead. We then turned onto a sidewalk and now very close to home, And it was then it struck me that I was suddenly now alone.

This stopped me in my tracks and I began to call his name And it was then I understood, why to me that day he came.  I then realized God had heard me, as my Angel He then sent To relieve me of my worries, and all my discontent.

Today I pray more often and feel blessed with my God’s Love As He was there and listening – and sent an Angel from above.

About the Poem

The author wrote, ” I wrote this poem as I reflected upon my faith. I believe that instances like these do occur and that our Angels can be someone so unexpected. God Bless!”

==============================================

St. John of Damascus writes: “An angel can only be called incorporeal and non-material in comparison with us. For in comparison with God, Who alone is beyond compare, everything seems coarse and material, only the divinity is totally non-material -and incorporeal.”

Per Orthodox Wiki:  The word angel means “messenger” and this word expresses the nature of angelic service to the human race. Angels are also referred to as “bodiless Powers of Heaven”. Angels are organized into several orders, or Angelic Choirs.

(http://www.orthodoxinfo.com/death/angels2.aspx):-  “When we examine the books of Holy Scripture, we find the names of the nine ranks which have been listed; more than nine are not mentioned. We read the name of the cherubim in the 3rd chapter of Genesis, in Psalms 80 and 99, in ch. 10 of Ezekiel; of the seraphim in Isaiah ch. 6; of powers in the Epistle to the Ephesians ch. 1, and to the Romans ch. 8; of thrones, authorities, principalities, and dominions in the Epistle to the Colossians ch. 1, to the Ephesians ch. 1 and 3; of archangels in the First Epistle to the Thessalonians ch. 4 and the Epistle of Jude v. 9; of angels in the First Epistle of Peter ch. 3, and the Epistle of St. Paul to the Romans ch. 8, and in; various other places.

On this evidence of Holy Scripture the number of angelic ranks recognized in the teaching of the Orthodox Church is normally limited to nine.

However, some Fathers of the Church express their personal opinion that the division of angels into nine ranks covers only those names and ranks which have been revealed to us in this present life; others will be revealed in the world to come. This idea has been developed by St. John Chrysostom, the Blessed Theodoretus, and Theophilactus the Bulgarian.

Chrysostom writes: “There are in truth other powers, whose names even are unknown to us.”

Read more here about the Orthodox Church’s teaching concerning angels.

St John of Kronstadt

“As One Cannot Count the Stars in the Heavens, So Can One Not Count the Holy Angels.” (Sermon on the Synaxis of Archangel Michael)

“God created an innumerable multitude of angels. When you came to liturgy this morning, maybe someone among you looked into the sky and saw how many stars fill the heavens. There are so many stars that it seems that the sky is filled with poppy seeds. No mortal can count them all. As one cannot count the stars in the heavens, so can one not count the number of holy angels. One star shines brighter, another less so, but each of them is greater than our world, larger than the Earth, this is known and has been proven.”

About padrerichard

I am a Priest with ROCOR.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment