Protestant Orthodox

Ramblings of a Redneck Priest

protestants

I spent forty years of my life as a Protestant and twenty of those as a Protestant minister. Sometimes I would ask,  “Are you Catholic or Protestant?” (This was long before I knew that there was a third option). If the reply was “I am a Protestant”, I would respond “Well, what do you protest?” Occasionally, the person was knowledgeable, but most often the response to my question was a blank stare. At least it meant that they were’t Catholic. I’ve been Orthodox for over 20 years. Now I ask “Are you Orthodox or Protestant or Catholic?”

A recent study conducted by the Orthodox Church of America and the Greek Archdiocese revealed some disturbing realities. When asked what was essential in Orthodoxy, the majority answered that belief in Christ as the son of God, and belief in his presence in the Eucharist was all that mattered.  I might conclude then that if belief…

View original post 664 more words

About padrerichard

I am a Priest with ROCOR and serve as Rector at St. Joseph of Optina Parish in Virginia Beach, VA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

