Elder Paisios as He faced death

Again and Again

icon_of_elderpaisius_theathonite

H/T: Orthodox Way of Life (here)

After spending time with my Father who at 98 is coming to terms with his mortality, I began to wonder how some of our Church Fathers would provide counsel in such situations. I found this account of Elder Paisios as He faced terminal cancer.

–– Geronda, the final diagnosis has been made. Your tumor is cancerous and it’s aggressive.

–– Bring me a handkerchief so that I may dance to the song: “I bid farewell to you, O poor world!” I have never danced in my life, but now I will dance for joy as my death approaches.

–– Geronda, the doctor said that first he wants to use radiation to shrink the tumor and then do surgery.

–– I understand! First the air force will bombard the enemy, and then the attack will begin! I’ll go up then and bring you…

View original post 571 more words

About padrerichard

I am a Priest with ROCOR and serve as Rector at St. Joseph of Optina Parish in Virginia Beach, VA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

