The short road to salvation

Again and Again

road-tripSt. Anastasios
the Sinaite († 700) ​writes:​

“I have often heard people saying, ‘Alas, how will I be saved? I lack the strength to fast, I’m no good at keeping a vigil, I’m unable to be chaste, I can’t leave the world, so how is it possible to be saved? How? I’ll tell you. Reprieve and you will be given reprieve, forgive and you will be forgiven. That’s the short road to salvation. And I’ll show you a second way. What? Don’t judge and you won’t be judged. Here’s yet another road without fasts, vigils, and effort. Don’t judge your brother even if you see him sinning with your own eyes”.​ (Discourse on the Holy Synaxis, PG 89, 845A​)​

View original post

About padrerichard

I am a Priest with ROCOR and serve as Rector at St. Joseph of Optina Parish in Virginia Beach, VA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

