Better off Dead

The Orthodox Life

What sin is so serious–so wicked–that committing it is worse than death? God himself says that if you commit this sin, it would be better for you to be in the grave.

Jesus says you would be better off dead than to commit this sin.

By your laziness,
By your negligence,
By your selfishness,
By your indifference,
By your bad example,
If you cause a child to sin,
then you would be better off dead.

The scary thing is that many parents do this all the time.

Laziness:

“I know it would be good to take my children to church, and to teach them to worship God regularly. But I just don’t feel like it. I would rather take a nap or watch T.V.”

Negligence:

“I do not neglect my children’s physical needs. But I do neglect their spiritual needs. I give them food, clothing, and shelter (things that are…

View original post 420 more words

About padrerichard

I am a Priest with ROCOR and serve as Rector at St. Joseph of Optina Parish in Virginia Beach, VA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

